I'm a feminist, now what?

My top 5 feminist books – Part 1

I believe men and women are equal, therefore I am a feminist. I also think women still hold a disadvantage overall in society, therefore I am a feminist. Now we’ve got that out of the way (defining feminism), I’ve read quite a few books lately on the issue. These are my favourite 5 feminism books…and they come with a side dish of spark, originality and charisma.

5. Yes Please, by Amy Poehler

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

This is the much expected and highly rated biography of comedian and genious Amy Poehler. She’s smart, funny, entertaining and a woman. At the same time! Can you imagine that? Amy is a great writer, but I have to say I didn’t find this book as easy to read as I thought I would. However, her wisdom on gender equality and her advice to women in general is spot on.

It takes years as a woman to unlearn what you have been taught to be sorry for. It takes years to find your voice and seize your real estate.” – Amy Poehler, Yes Please

It was quite inspirational to hear from a woman who breaks so many stereotypes and gives us courage to be different. Femininity doesn’t always mean high heels, dresses and powder. It’s humour, life and how women deal with life in general. Amy does a great job of talking to everyone about what it means to be a successful woman, a mother and a role model.

Although it had some high points, I felt the book dragged quite a bit and read more like a disjointed diary (very similar to mine). It also didn’t flow as well as other memoirs I’ve read recently, so that influenced my rating quite a bit.

Rating: 3/5 stars – I liked it 

Honorable mention: it got me watching Parks and Recreation! (best decision I ever made)

4. Not that kind of girl, by Lena Dunham

Not that kind of girl, by Lena Dunham

 

Unapologetic, all over the place, this is me and here I am for you to judge – that’s Lena Dunham for me. So, naturally, she’s a personal idol. She’s privileged, she’s part of such an elitist part of this world, but at the same time she’s representing what we all want: to put ourselves forward, no matter how dark we might be.

There is nothing gutsier to me than a person announcing that their story is one that deserves to be told, especially if that person is a woman.- Lena Dunham, Not that kind of girl

This book is also hilarious – laugh out loud funny and so ridiculous in places that it can’t not be true. It flows nicely and shows no mercy on the reader. Some parts might seem a bit far fetched and quite rude in a pointless way, but they’re salvaged by adorable quirkiness.

Even if I didn’t love Girls, I think I’d have still enjoyed this book. It touches on some sensitive and crucial issues as well. Consent is approached and questioned in the context of a failed sexual experience. It questions what consent really means nowadays and how it should be defined more appropriately so we don’t have to question ourselves anymore. More on this here.

Rating: 4/5 stars – Loved every bit of it!

  To be continued…best bit is coming tomorrow!

Leave a comment