Readathon

ReadAThon Wrap-up

Coming a bit late to the party, here’s my Dewey’s 24 hour Readathon wrap-up! It was awesome, I did my best and had so much fun reading, posting and seeing what folks all over the world were doing.

Read a thon

What I read:

  • five short stories by Haruki Murakami (plus writing mini-reviews for two of them)
  • A really awesome mess, by Trish Cook | I had no plans whatsoever to pick this up, but I felt like I was in need for some YA after reading only magical realism for about a week and a half
  • The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami – have I mentioned I have a slight obsession with this guy? When I couldn’t sleep at about 2am, this slightly longer short story gently nudged me into dreamland.

End of event meme

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you?

I can’t say I had a daunting hour, as I didn’t go full on this time, setting a high target for myself.

2.  Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?

Oh, yes, sir:

3.  Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?

Organise a readathon get-together/party in cities around the world? Imagine renting a cafe where people could go and just read, talk about what they’re reading, blog and eat delicious bookish treats for 24 hours? I’d go to that!

4.  What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?

Hashtags, interesting mini-challenges and awesome organisation.

5.  How many books did you read?

Two books, if I can say 7 short stories kinda equal a book *cheeky*

6.  Which book did you enjoy most?

My favourite read was Samsa in Love by Haruki Murakami.

7.  Which did you enjoy least?

I liked everything I read, but if I had to choose, A really awesome mess by Trish Cook was my least favourite. I still had so much fun reading it that it pains me to say that.

8.  How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

A big time YES!!! I hope next time I’ll be better prepared and play the cheerleader as well.

Until then: HAPPY READING!

4 thoughts on “ReadAThon Wrap-up

  1. Good job on reading so much! I never even considered short stories, those seem perfect for a readathon!

    I also want to say, I would *love* public readathon spaces. Every year I think about how, if I owned my own bookshop (my little dream), I would totally do a whole event for the readathon, keep it open overnight, do snacks and giveaways and a whole thing. It’d be so much fun!!

    Like

  2. Thank you! I never find the time or the drive to pick up short stories, so I thought they’d be perfect now.

    And keep up your bookshop dream! If you really want it, I’m sure one day you’ll make it come to life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

