Personal

Would you rather | Book tag

tumblr_mis6g8f9Fk1rl4isco1_500

I’m starting to really enjoy tags and this one in particular sounds quite awesome, with the potential of being tricky. It was created by RayKayBooks and quickly spread everywhere. Without further ado, here’s my would you rather book tag:

1. Read only trilogies or stand-alones?

This is an easy one for me: stand-alones. I think not many authors have the capacity of carrying out a narrative throughout three books (or more). Some characters deserve their chance to show us what they can offer through more than one book, but I feel like more and more stories are dragged out, just for the sake of selling three books instead of one.

2. Read only female or male authors?

I like to think I read quite diversely, but the truth is I have a tendency to reach for books written by female authors. There are lots of male writers I truly admire and sometimes I don’t even know the gender of the author and that doesn’t have an impact on my experience, but if I had to choose, I’d go with female authors.

3. Shop at Barnes & Noble or Amazon?

Can I choose Book depository instead of these two? In an ideal world, I’d only shop in independent book stores (and also read in them from time to time), but from these two, Amazon all the way.

4. All books become movies or TV shows?

I’m quite split on this one. On one hand, I’ve read lots of books I’d like to see as a TV show, but some come to mind that would be carried out more nicely across the big screen. However, I’d rather see the characters develop nicely and the story represented fairly rather than important parts being missed out from a book – so TV shows.

5. Read 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

I’m not sure how I’d fit 5 books per week in my schedule, but bring it on! I can’t imagine picking up a book I like and reading only 5 pages of it (I’m a binge reader).

6. Be a professional reviewer or author?

I’d love to write my own book someday, when I find an undying passion for a story stuck in my head. In the mean time, inspiration is key and reviewing books is the perfect way of bringing writing closer to home. For the long term, author tops it.

7. Only read your top 20 favorite books over and over or always read new ones that you haven’t read before?

I don’t usually re-read books – the only book I’ve read more than twice is Harry Potter (and that’s when I was quite young). I always want to discover new favourites though – only new books it is!

8. Be a librarian or book seller?

I love quirky book shops, but nothing tops a good library. I spent quite a lot of time at university in the city’s libraries and I’d love to work in one someday.

9. Only read your favorite genre, or every genre except your favorite?

I don’t have an undying passion for only one genre, so even if I had to pick my favourite, I think I could live without it. I do believe in reading diversely is crucial in keeping me engaged with reading and it also shows me new ways of creating powerful stories, through different means.

10. Only read physical books or eBooks?

There’s nothing like the feel of a book in your hands – so many people say that and I agree – to a certain point. I love having a huge library, the feel of nice paper, looking at a nice cover and getting the feel of the story to come. However, the freedom that eBooks have been me is priceless. I’ve moved quite a lot in the last couple of years and I simply can’t afford carrying a personal library with me every time I move. For that reason only – eBooks!

If you enjoyed this and want to do it, consider yourself tagged! I’ve already read quite a few of these posts, but I’d love to see yours as well – so leave a link in the comments and I’ll make sure to check it out. Until next time,

🌟 Happy reading! 🌟

2 thoughts on “Would you rather | Book tag

  1. This looks like so much fun, I’m definitely going to have to do it. I agree with lots of your answers — I’d much rather only read standalones (full stories!) to endless trilogies, and I wouldn’t care very much about never being able to reread a book again if I was always reading something new.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

