Book reviews · Short stories

Seconds of pleasure by Neil LaBute | Book review

435317

In Bristol there’s a really gorgeous place which everyone should visit if you find yourself in the city. It’s really easy to find, you just go up from the famous harbourside, follow the main road to a hilly, always busy street, to the infamous Clifton.

This road is called Park Street and it’s a great example of the God awful hills of this city. It will leave you breathless and swearing every single time, but it’s worth it. A couple of weeks ago I found myself wandering around, as many of my favourite shops are around here. There’s nothing in particular that I find really attractive around here, but it’s more of a combo of charity shops, the closest PaperChase, arts supply shops I like to dip in and a couple of random bits.

I went in the super cheap book shop and was browsing around aimlessly. I do this to find new books (which I then go and usually buy online) or just to get a bit of inspiration.

I’ll admit it, I opened this particular book because of its name: Seconds of Pleasure. I imagined carefully crafted paragraphs on the joys of mindfulness, the little moments in life that leave us in awe at the world around us.

I was wrong. And I’m really happy I was so wrong because that wouldn’t have been a book I would have bought and read so quickly.

ashton-wallis
Painting by Ashton Wallis

No, Mr. The first story my eyes settled on and couldn’t stop reading was about a man in an airport who seduces a young woman. And like so many of the stories in this collection, it was intense, riveting, full of step by step action and determination, told in a unique voice that drew me in, just as in a smooth seduction game.

I read and read, captivated by the style and then it got better and better, building up to a big finale. A twist in the road that I hadn’t expected, didn’t see coming at all. And it left me feeling giggly, sweaty, exhausted and a bit dirty. This book will have that effect on you, taking you to the dark side, to the parts of the world where people exploit each other, where mistakes happen, where intrigue and mystery come from deep inside us.

It quite got in my brain and every time I picked it up, I was transposed to a different reality. It’s not for the faint hearted, but it you want some sparks, give it a shot.

Rating: ★★★★– I loved it!

 

Leave a Reply

